Final Self Assessment

Final Self Assessment

 

Reading and writing has always been one of my favorite things to do as I’ve always loved to indulge myself in any book that caught my interest. I have never had a specific genre that I would say was my favorite. Once it caught my attention, I’d be reading it. As a result of this, as well as the fact that my mother was a teacher (which meant she made sure I was very well taught in English), I was always seen as a good writer. However, there is always room for improvement.

When I first started this class, of course I knew that I needed to improve my writing in some ways, but I was not sure how. During the months that I spent in this class, I was able to learn a wealth of new things. I was finally able to address my overuse of some words, my repetition as well as learning how to use a semicolon. I also realized that I had issues with writing some analytical pieces due to the fact that I would summarize a bit too much.

Also, it was brought to my attention that I wrote many run-on sentences. This class has taught me several fun and convenient ways to fix all of these issues, even if it was something as simple as “if it sounds wrong the first time, chances are you should change it.” This class also taught me the value of first drafts, turning in assignments on time, and communicating with my professor when I was having a hard time. I was able to learn better time management, as well as more effective ways to get work done.

Usually, I was the type to wait until the last minute to get things done because I felt like I worked better under pressure. However, this course taught me that planning, outlining and gradually writing a paper/essay was a much better practice. This is because it gave me more time to think about my topic, re-read what I had already written, and touch up places where I had previously overlooked. It gave me a better opportunity to polish my work so that I could produce the best work that I could.

Leave a Reply

